Fallasburg Covered Bridge Turns 150 Years Old
The Kent County Road Commission (KCRC) joins the Fallasburg Historical Society this weekend at the Fallasburg Arts Festival to celebrate the sesquicentennial of the Fallasburg Covered Bridge. The two organizations will be located on the South Porch of the Fallasburg Park Pavilion on Saturday and Sunday, September 18 and 19, from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Built in 1871 by Jared N. Bresee for $1500, the Fallasburg Covered Bridge is a 100-foot Brown truss covered bridge that crosses the Flat River. It is one of just six covered bridges remaining in Michigan, the oldest that sits on its original site, open to traffic.
Repairs throughout the years have allowed the bridge to remain open to vehicular traffic and even surmount damage caused in 2013 when a heavy truck drove over the bridge despite exceeding the three-ton load limit.
Situated adjacent to picturesque Fallasburg Park, the bridge leads travelers to the Fallasburg Historic District, where structures dating from the mid-1800s help preserve the village’s original character. Bridge signage originally posted in 1872 alludes to this period, cautioning a "$5 fine for riding or driving on this bridge faster than a walk."
The Fallasburg Covered Bridge was listed with the Michigan State Register in 1959 and awarded a Michigan Historical Marker in 1971. It was then listed with the National Register in 1972.
Fallasburg Park is located at 1124 Fallasburg Park Drive in Lowell, Michigan. Further information regarding the Fallasburg Arts Festival is available at lowellartsmi.org.